Tea World

Lesson 5

Taxonomy of Tea Plant

Print,PDF and Email

The genus Camellia of which tea is a member, belongs to the family Theaceae, tribe Gordonieae.There are some 82 recognised species within the genus Camellia. These recognised species are arranged unto 12 sections. The tea plant comes under Section Thea.

Kingdom: Plantae

Phylum: Spermatophyta

Subphylum: Angiospermae

Class: Dicotyledonae

Order: Theales

Family: Theaceae

Genus: Camellia

Species: Camellia sinensis

Previous Chapter Next Chapter

Leave a comment


Other Lessons